Forever Saint award: Sue Lopez

By SFC Media time Wed 12 Jan Club

Southampton Football Club has honoured the pioneering Sue Lopez with its latest Forever Saint award.

One of the most influential figures in the history of women’s football in this country, Lopez made an enormous contribution to Saints in particular, both as a player and later as a director.

During her 20-year playing career, she was part of the Southampton team that won the FA Cup an incredible eight times between 1971 and 1981, including the inaugural edition of the trophy in the first of those seasons.

Sue Lopez Winchester July 2018 comp
Sue Lopez, pictured in 2018

Those were some of many highlights throughout her time on the pitch, where she played as a striker, with Lopez having also played for a season with Italian giants Roma, while helping to establish the first ever officially-sanctioned England women’s team, going on to earn 22 caps.

In 2000, she was awarded an MBE for her services to women’s football, and later that year became Head of Women’s Football at Saints, although with the Men’s side relegated from the Premier League in 2005, the Women’s section was then disbanded for financial reasons.

Lopez was unable to attend Tuesday night’s game against Brentford to receive the award in person, but her long-time friend and former teammate Lesley Lloyd was on-hand to collect the trophy on her behalf during the half-time ceremony.

SOUTHAMPTON, ENGLAND - JANUARY 11: Marianne Spacey-Cale(R) presents a Lifetime Saints awards during the Premier League match between Southampton  and  Brentford at St Mary's Stadium on January 11, 2022 in Southampton, England. (Photo by Isabelle Field/Southampton FC via Getty Images)
Lesley Lloyd receives the award for Sue Lopez from Marieanne Spacey-Cale

Lopez joins the list of recipients this season, with the award presented to ex-players, club servants and community champions who have made incredible contributions both at Saints and in the community.

Franny Benali, Glenn Cockerill, John Corbett, Kelvin Davis, Steve Mills, Leon Crouch, Nigel Adkins and Dave Merrington have also all been celebrated so far.


Forever Saint Award: Dave Merrington
chevron right
Sport Republic announces organisational changes

Sport Republic announces organisational changes

Statement from the club's ownership.

timeMon 22 May
John Flood: 1932-2023 A statement from our owners Video: Spacey-Cale reflects on debut season video05:38
Women's First Team

Video: Spacey-Cale reflects on debut season

Marieanne Spacey-Cale talks through first Championship season.

Livramento on never losing confidence Edozie and Young Lions kickstart U20 World Cup campaign